Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

Just for Practice.

While at U. K. A. E. A. Sellafield, a mob of us collected coins.  For those unaware, we didn't have a Coin denomination above half a crown value in today's funnimoney that's =12.5 Pence; we attempted to get one of each coin from each year.  None of us ever got a 1933 Penny, look that one up.

I'll save you the trouble.    ;¬)

       In those far off days there could be any one of Victoria, (STILL) Edward VII, GeoV,  Geo VI, "Lizzieii" NOT sure, without checking if Edward VIII (The uncrowned King) ever made it onto the Coinage.  On top of this theres a welter of foreigners, some from home VERY significantly different in size from "ours" and some, no doubt received in change, e.g. Manx, even Irish  1d & 1/2d.
       Since I doubt any of our younger tribe will be all that interested I thought I might as well see if any denizens of that well known "online Auction Site" it might as well be in my pocket as a housebreaking sale?
       For instance, in front of me I currently have the one you can see above + a Manx & a Guernsey 20P, a 1/2d from Eire, a Manx (Queen head) 1P, a 1/2 farthing (1844) and a Geo VI 1951 1/4d; one of which I just looked on that website - it wasn't specifically '53 but nit was offered for a touch over £2.00.
       If you don't know, we had 240d to the Pound and 4 Farthings to the 1d - SO - as them-over-there are wont to say - "Go figure".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.