Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Wet woods

It was raining when I woke up and rained all through breakfast so I was expecting it to be wet all day. But when I took Xena for a walk after breakfast we had a dry walk and even had some sunshine. 

Here you can see the bracken which is now a lovely autumnal russet colour, but the trees are still green. You may just be able to spot some cut logs of wood in the distance - our woods are such a mess at the moment as the council are doing woodland maintenance and ripping out all the holly and other invasive species, but they also seem to have cut down an awful lot of trees, it is quite a shock to see the woods looking so devastated. Next to their signs announcing this work,  people have stuck up notices asking us to object to this destruction of our woods. I don't know enough about it to know whether this is best practice woodland management as they say it is, or not.

I noticed so many huge Fly Agarics again today, but they are growing under dense brambles, so that I really need to get in there with secateurs and chop away the brambles if I want to photograph them - and I don't think I am allowed to do that. 

The house seems quiet without Tommy, not that he is noisy, but I am now used to his presence! 

I started watching The Lost Flowers Of Alice Hart on Prime TV as I have finished the book, and I always get annoyed because a TV dramatisation can never follow the book exactly, but they have unnecessarily changed the way some things happened which I find annoying. I loved the book Lessons in Chemistry and will watch that mini series next so I hope that is not too different from the book.

I have now finished editing my photos so if you would like to see the photos of my trip to Slovenia, you can see them here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.