Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Mud splattered

The weather was surprisingly good today - good because it did not rain, we had a sunny afternoon, and it was quite mild, I found I was too warm in my jacket when out walking.

I was on a fungi hunt again today, but I did not take my tripod on my walk today, and as it was overcast this morning the light was not good, so bending down on muddy ground in low lit areas under trees is not going to result in great images! Although I did like this one that is quite splattered with mud from the rain overnight.

I spent most of the afternoon updating my website, I forget I have one and then all of a sudden I realise it needs updating  - so that took care of a few hours today.

Meriel has just left to go to Chad for a couple of weeks. She works in the Foreign Office and her countries are those in the Sahel region - as Luke says, the ones always having a coup! (Chad, Niger, Mauritania, Senegal, Burkina Faso...etc) She has had security and safety training, as there is always the risk of kidnap. When she is there she is not allowed to leave the embassy unaccompanied. I believe she is keeping an Apple tag on her person at all times for safety!

It is going to be a very exciting rugby weekend...I am guessing it will be a New Zealand vs South Africa final? Tomorrow is England vs South Africa which has our family watching with mixed emotions. Not just us, but Ben Earl (who plays for England) has a South African girlfriend! (Well, her parents are South African) I wonder which team they will be supporting?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.