JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Future socks

J chose the wool, and I hope she will be wearing these sometime next year - I've only just started them, and I mainly knit during car journeys. We don't often go far these days, so it takes a long time to finish anything - the socks I recently finished for myself must have taken at least a year. I love knitting, but there are just too many other things filling my days. Sock projects are small, very portable, and I find them both satisfying to knit and comfortable and cosy enough to make the effort worthwhile.

The miserable morning weather kept me indoors after yoga, but by early afternoon the rain had stopped and the sky brightened a bit. I trimmed the rampaging tomato plants in the new greenhouse, picked a few ripe ones, then spent a useful hour clearing up seed trays and small pots from the deck and stacking them tidily by size and type in the old greenhouse. This felt quite satisfying but there's a lot more to do. Meanwhile P sorted and cut wood for an evening fire, and later made a delicious ratatouille with our aubergines, courgettes, tomatoes, onions, garlic and herbs - only the peppers and olives were shop bought. We ate it with tagliatelle and drank more of the cider from our orchard. It's not often such a high proportion of our food is home grown, but this is the peak time of year for our vegetable garden and days like this make the work feel worthwhile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.