Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

STREET ART - BCAM 2023 - DAY 21

The Silly Saturday Gang apologise for not being part of this Blip today - the first one they have missed for a long time - because there are now too many of them to take on an outing - but I’m sure they will be back soon.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to go out and view many of the wonderful Street Art Murals painted for the Swindon Paint Fest in September, because I had just come out of hospital and wasn’t able to walk.  However, I did follow the organisation on social media and was impressed with the murals I saw online.

However, today after Mr. HCB and I had been double jabbed - a flu jab in one arm and a Covid jab in the other - we then decided to go into our town centre to have a wander around and look at a few of the murals.  This one caught my eye, and I’m sure it won’t be any surprise why.  There is lots of pink in this beautiful mural and this has not been “touched up” at all.  

It was painted by artist, Hazard One, who is "recognised as one of the best female graffiti artists in the world", has decorated the wall of Poppins Café on Regent Street and this is part of a much larger mural.  I’m sure we will be walking around and finding others to photograph, but this is a start and a good reminder to ask you to click on this LINK so that those who cannot afford to pay for a mammogram can have one free.  Thank you to everyone who has clicked - please keep clicking and know that you have made a real difference for many - and not only women.

It was good to be out and about with Mr.  HCB but I couldn’t walk far or fast - but hopefully, as I do more, it will become easier.  We, or rather I, was very upset to see that Marks & Spencer in our town centre is closing on 28th October - and although we have a voucher to use, there was nothing that took our eye, so I guess it will mean a visit to the Orbital Centre sometime to spend that.

We did go in and have a coffee, which we enjoyed -  but no cake was consumed!  We sat next to a young lady and her nephew and chatted to them, which was good.  She did make us laugh because she showed us a photograph showing her nephew having a donut for breakfast, so I said “What a naughty Mummy” whereupon she said “Oh no, I’m not his Mum - I’m his Auntie so I get to do all the naughty things with him!”  Her nephew just smiled! :-)   

You might be interested to see this fellow at work on the Cenotaph - see my extra shot - ahead of Remembrance Day.  Another interesting artist - not sure I would like his job but I guess after all the pigeons that sit on the top, there is a lot of you-know-what to clean off!

Take care and stay safe - and we hope you all have a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.