Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

A Day in the Cotswolds

When I was still working part-time, we used to go out most Mondays and Fridays, but since retiring, Mr. HCB and I don't go out together as much - so we decided that today we would venture out into the Cotswolds. It was very cloudy and raining, but that did not deter us.

My blip today is taken in a small village on the fringe of the Cotswold hills, about 4 miles from Chipping Campden, Stretton-on-Fosse. Stretton means "settlement on a Roman Road" and in this case the road is the Fosse Way. We were here because Mr. HCB thought he knew the way, but it turned out we were somewhat lost but remember real men don't read maps, and definitely don't ask their wives for directions!

I was looking for a wisteria to photograph for a friend's birthday card and we came upon this lovely one on a local pub called The Plough Inn - this mangle (or wringer) was outside and just waiting to be blipped.

Mr. HCB's comment after this was that if we had come another way, I wouldn't have got my blip!!

We eventually arrived in Chipping Campden, a small market town with an elegant terraced High Street, constructed from honey coloured limestone buildings, built from the mellow locally quarried oolitic limestone known as Cotswold stone, and dating from the 14th to the 17th Century. It was a rich wool trading centre in the Middle Ages and lots of wealthy wool merchants lived here. At its centre stands the Market Hall with its splendid arches, built in 1627 and of course, I took lots of photographs, but had already decided what I was going to use as my blip.

In fact, I went up and down the High Street taking pictures of all the interesting doors to make a collage which will probably end up on one of our walls very soon. Many of the cottages had names, some of which related to the wool trade e.g. Woolstapler's House and many of the doors were the original doors. The sun came out and it turned into a beautiful day. Walking up the High Street, we met a lovely American couple from New York State and had a very pleasant conversation with them for about half an hour, before they left to continue their walk. I gave her my blip details so she can have a look at this photograph.

Of course, we had to have the obligatory coffee and cake - well after all, it was a Feasting Day, so no worries there!

It is wonderful that even after being married for over 45 years, we still enjoy being together and even a slight detour did not mar our day! I just wish I could put all my photographs on here, but as I can't, hope that you like this one.

Have a happy Friday, fellow blippers - nearly the weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.