JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Morning in the valley

Today I learned from yesterday and took several photos before my first cup of tea. It's easy when the morning light through the window is so inviting. I returned to the balcony to try to capture the morning sky, with smoky clouds above the skyline trees, and discovered mist lying in the valley and softly muting its colours.

It's been a beautiful day. The sun was already warming my back as I hung out laundry before breakfast, and I walked up the hill before lunch in glorious, mellow sunshine, noticing and photographing the many shadows it cast on the lane and surrounding surfaces. I've done some overdue cleaning too, which always feels good when it's finished, and J has almost persuaded me to sew dungarees for her - she's been browsing all her favourite shops online, but although there are lots of nice ones, she hasn't found quite what she wants/needs. It would be a nice project and I haven't done any dressmaking for a long time, but I'm hesitant to commit to it as I find it so difficult to get down to things like this and finish them. I have lots of fabric though... I'm very tempted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.