Canopy

Underfoot, the path was brown and gold with fallen leaves, strewn with sweet chestnuts and their prickly cases in various stages of decomposition, and muddier than I expected, but I was surprised to find that looking up, deep in the wood the canopy was still predominantly green. I had hoped to photograph the pattens of dappled sun and shadow, but by the time I had finished J's shower and Saturday pamper session, fed her the rosti and bean brunch P cooked (rosti being back on the menu now that much of our potato crop is stacked up in the pantry), and organised her with her computer and switch access, the morning sun was largely obscured by clouds, making this dense woodland very gloomy. I walked up the hill opposite, puffing and stopping to draw breath far sooner than I should, then as I reached the top of the Downs, continued along the path through the woods until I emerged into green meadows at their far side. Returning down the lane, I paused to chat to friends who were in their garden picking apples, but saw no-one else. As always, it was good to be outside, moving and alone with my camera, and as always I promised myself I will look after my health better by doing this every other day. I hope this time I will maintain my resolve despite the reproachful clamour of the to do lists.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.