Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Another Fly Agaric

Today I set off on my walk with Xena with my mini tripod (its only 8 inches tall) so that I could take photos of fungi. However I forgot my reading glasses, so when I found fungi, I was relying on the touch screen focus point on the back of my camera to place where I wanted the focal point to be, as I could not see anything in focus without my glasses. The fungi were so hidden under thick brambles that it was difficult to get an uncluttered view of them. 

Our dishwasher has not worked for weeks. The technician who came a few weeks ago who said he repaired it, failed to do so. This time we contacted Gaggenua directly and asked for one of their technicians to come repair it, and we have been waiting weeks for him to be able to come. He was due to come between 12pm and 3pm today, so I went grocery shopping after walking Xena confident that I would be back home by 12pm. However, there is so much roadworks going on at the moment in our area (gas works, so roads all dug up) that it took me forever to get to the supermarket. Returning back home I had about 5 minutes to get there and was very near home when I found the road had been closed for more gas works. It wasn't closed when I went down it 45 minutes prior to that. I could not get home, as they closed all the intersections - I had to go back into the village and go a very roundabout way to get home. I was so frustrated, as the dishwasher technician had phoned Gavin at work to say he had arrived at our house but had left - Gavin pleaded with him to return and wait for me. The kind man returned and waited another 20 minutes for me to get home.

He could not find anything wrong with the dishwasher, the diagnostic tests all showed that things were working as they should. But in reality it is not working, it stops mid cycle with undrained water in the appliance. He said he would try change some parts in the hope that the problem would be solved, but he can only return on 10 November to fit the new part! The cost of the first call out together with this quote means we could have bought a new dishwasher! We are at the point of not knowing whether to carry on and let him try to fix this dishwasher, or give up and replace this Gaggenau dishwasher with a cheaper brand. The problem is Gaggenau is a brand that costs 4 - 5 times more than other usual brands of dishwashers, and I don't believe they are any better, but one of the selling features of our house is that it has a fully spec'd Gaggenau kitchen, and if we replace the dishwasher with a non - Gaggenau one, a potential buyer one day in the future may not be happy with that. All so frustrating!

I had better go cook supper as I am off to camera club tonight, we have a critique evening by an experienced external judge which is always useful, its like judging with more constructive comments and no score.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.