talloplanic views

By Arell

Good enough to eat your dinner off

This aesthetic genre I was going to call "garagechic", which I've just invented, but because the internet exists, apparently it's already a thing, although it seems to be the preserve of USAnians who have garages big enough for three cars but have filled them with random junk and who then pay someone to turn the space into a cross between a dining room and a Formula One workshop.  Garagechic chez Arell is just elegant bodging: cabinetry where if it's squint and you can bash it square before the glue dries, it's good enough.

Still, this thing seems sturdy enough for sawing logs and pretty much anything else that needs cutting, I think.  The top is a bit deeper front to back than I planned because when sketching, I forgot that the overhangs would add about three inches; a workbench can't however be too long.  The longer end might take a face vice one day or perhaps just a crochet.  The only problem I've discovered so far is that the bench is about two orders of magnitude more level than the patio it sits on.

Bolting the top onto the base was all I had energy for today thanks to germs and Big Cold breaking out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.