WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Back again

I drove to Narbonne in the rain this morning and dropped Bruno the Peugeot back at B's  -- I must have done close to 300 km in him this weekend, more than he's done in the last 6 months, and he's been a star. No lights on at B's and I didn't want to disturb her if she wasn't up yet, so I headed straight to the station and was in plenty of time for the train. It was packed, not a seat free for most of the trip to Madrid. I think a lot of people must be taking advantage of the 19-euro tickets from France to Barcelona.

A quick train change in Madrid, where the botanical gardens are still surrounded by scaffolding and tarpaulins. The Málaga train was much emptier, especially as I'd chosen to sit in the quiet carriage, and not many Spanish people want to be quiet apparently. 

Sadly the weather was dire for almost the whole trip, making it difficult to appreciate the scenery. There was a low lid of thick grey cloud, but as we approached Antequera and the sun was setting, gaps appeared in a tumbling mass of cloud -- there were sundogs and a rainbow, but no chance of capturing them from the train window at 260 kph. I did try taking photos anyway -- one in extras.

It was a trouble-free journey -- both trains were exactly on time. In Málaga by 7:45 -- just time to walk across to the bus station and catch the bus to Almuñecar, where S picked me up. Good to be back!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.