curns' corner

By curns

Doughnuts

I was on the 8:16am train from Raynes Park into the office.  When the team arrived we headed out to a cafe to try and get a decent coffee. Amir offered to pay as he’s just finished his Ramadan fast and having a decent coffee in the office this morning seemed like a good thing to do.

The walk for coffee at the start of the day was followed, later, by a walk into Staines for lunch. I picked up a Chicken Club baguette from Wenzels but was very tempted by the Union Jack Doughnurs. Ultimately, I decided against them as we already had some plain ones in the office but I am very tempted to order some for the Coronation party we are planning.

I got out of the office earlier than usual as I knew I needed to get home before giving blood. I wondered if the doughnuts that I did eat would, somehow show up in my blood and impact the giving. But it didn’t. We turned up in New Malden right on time to find a waiting room that was very empty and we were both quickly ushered into the process.  As this was only my second time I was asked a lot of questions about how I coped last time. I had no side effects so all was good.  I am a little nervous of giving blood because of my elevated blood pressure. Although the tablets keep it under control, and it’s safe, I can’t help but think about it. Surprisingly, the needles and the sight of the packets of blood don’t worry me - although I don’t watch them attaching me. 

Today, the process seemed much quicker than last time and we were out of the hall within 40 minutes (and had used the recovery time as an excuse to eat some custard cream biscuits which we haven’t had in the house for a long time).

To avoid any kind of strenuous walk, we took the train back and grabbed some fish and chips for dinner.  Later Cornelia messaged to say that Craig had been planning to come to Thirsty Thursday this week but can’t now the day has changed.  We maybe should have left it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.