curns' corner

By curns

Pub sign

I don’t know if one of the symptoms of giving blood is being tired but I did feel really lethargic this morning so I was late for my morning walk (meaning I only did the shortest route), late for breakfast and late to get to my desk. The day was unbelievably quiet with almost no messages. So quiet, that I restarted all my apps to check they weren’t suffering from some mysterious disconnection. I even did a computer restart which, inadvertently tried to install an update and took way longer than I would have like. Glad I was not trying to hop on a conference call. Instead, I tried to focus on thinking about what would be needed in the workshops tomorrow. Later in the day we got some information about a workshop session, called The Big Idea. Even by the end of the afternoon, I wasn’t sure I’d come up with a suitable item to write on my PostIt note tomorrow morning.

PY went to B&Q for some paint. In the light of all the small actions we have been taking around the house, he’s decided to tackle the front wall which is peeling. Later, he started working on it. I think he regretted it because it requires taking a lot of the old render off and we aren’t re-rendering: just repainting. 

He also went to look at the Coronation items in Tesco. We had thought we might buy people who come to our gathering a commemorative glass but we are in two minds. 

It's funny how the world works. Sometimes, things come back into fashion after being gone for a while. It's like the world has come full circle. I spent the afternoon writing some product requirements for contextual targeting, a feature that used to be standard for all ad-servers and then everybody decided audience addressable was the future. Now, contextual targeting, a feature that people took for granted, is making a come-back.  It's a reminder that things change, but some things are always worth coming back to. And sometimes, the best way to move forward is to go back to the basics. 

On the train by 6:30pm to meet Cornelia for the rearranged Thirsty Thursday event. I stopped off at Waterloo to buy a min bottle of Prosecco to give her for her birthday and then completely forgot to give it to her. She’d been talking with Steve earlier who said that it was Thomas’ 17th birthday which, according to Cornelia makes it 17 years and a month that we’ve known each other. She recalls Steve going off on paternity leave a month after she joined. 

Another lovely evening of chat. It is a shame that it’s not yet caught on with other people but we are going g to keep working at it. I didn’t overdo the beers as I have an early start tomorrow but that just mean I drank slowly not that I went home much earlier than usual. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.