curns' corner

By curns

Arches

It turns out that people didn’t stay much longer in the restaurant last night. J said he was back in Staines for 11:30pm and managed to drive back to Guildford in 30 minutes. He might have been better taking the company up on the offer of a room in the Premier Inn to stay with those who had longer travel than suburban London. I was told that I made the most British exit from the restaurants at night apologising to each person I had to squire past several times. 

Everything concluded at 5pm which meant, with a little bit of a hasty exit  that I hope did not annoy anyone, I could be on the 5:16pm train to Weybridge and on to Portsmouth Harbour.  Weybridge platforms were very quiet while I was waiting but the bridge arches at the end of the platform were very impressive so I decided today’s picture, like yesterday, would also be another view from the platform. 

We decided to come to The Island for two nights and it was a good excuse to try the train experience from Staines. It was easy. I listened to podcasts. The Pat Sharp Crunch and Roll interview was particularly good. 

I had a while to wait at Portsmouth for the ferry but I managed to grab a coffee and watch an impressive sunset from outside the station before boarding Wight Ryder for the hop across. It’s definitely busier now the spring is here so it was much more crowded walking down the pier. It will be great later in the summer when the new walkway is open and pedestrians and cars are segregated. 

Dinner was a delicious stir fry with rainbow veg and beetroot noodles. I sent my weekly work notes after dinner, having decided that catching the train was more of a priority at 5pm than getting a short update out. 

We sat listening a chill out playlist until it was time for bed. A lovely and relaxing evening after quite a busy week. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.