Grammy

By Grammy

Thorny Olive

What a perfect Fall day. And I was privileged to enjoy being outside several times. I had my annual visit with my GI doc. He ordered a bone density and B12 test. The meds I take can affect both. Otherwise, I am good to go. From there, I shopped for a few items that are in low supply. Hubby had his appointment with his cardiologist and also got a good report. He wanted to power wash our back porch before winterizing the power washer. That meant I had to deeply prune the two butterfly bushes by the porch. Perfect day to do both. I piled the limbs on the bird feeder “patio” to give the birds a place to hide from predators and shelter from the elements this winter. I love white pickets but they always look grungy. So glad hubby has that washer. He will reseal the porch floor once it dries. I found this blip yesterday but then saw the praying mantis. When you go outside, this bush (also called oleaster) provides a lovely scent. It isn’t the prettiest shrub and doesn’t have the nicest blooms but its fragrance makes up for what it lacks. The bees enjoy it as much as I do. A few of the bumbles simply clung to the branches. But this one was still quite active. Dinner is made so we will have a quiet evening. Hope you will as well. Thanks for the visit. Stay safe. “Surely, everyone knows the great furry bumblebee, that gentle giant of the blossoms, that somehow awkward, slow, bumbling bear of a bee”. – Brian L. Griffin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.