stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Holiday

Waltzing Matilda, waltzing Matilda
You'll come a-waltzing Matilda, with me
And he sang as he watched and waited till his billy boiled:
"You'll come a-waltzing Matilda, with me."

~ Banjo Paterson


Did I mention I was going on holiday?

It's fast approaching the business end of the holiday and I'm needing to get my arse in gear. It's easy to tell I haven't been away on holiday for a while and I'm having to stock up on all sorts. My new luggage arrived today. When the package arrived it looked a lot smaller than I expected. Fortunately it was just well compressed. Phew. Now I need to fill it.

I also stopped off at Thomas Cook and picked up my cash. The notes are really small compared to Sterling and pretty similar in size. They are also made of polymer so feel different too. Lovely colours though and they all have this cool transparent element to them. $80 is enough to see me through my first week in Victoria, right! ;-)

Bush poet, journalist and author Andrew Barton "Banjo" Paterson is pictured on the front of the $10 note. One of his most famous bush ballads, Waltzing Matilda, is often referred to as Australia's unofficial national anthem. Mary Reibey, an Englishwoman transported to Australia as a convict but who went on to become a successful businesswoman in Sydney, is pictured on the front of the $20 note and David Unaipon is pictured on the $50 note. A preacher, inventor and writer, Unaipon's contribution to Australian society helped to break many indigenous Australian stereotypes. ~ Wiki

48 sleeps!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.