Drama Queen

A quick dash around the garden this evening before getting over to the cinema, not to watch a film, but to see a live broadcast of Dame Helen Mirren in The Audience, two nights before its final performance. The play went out tonight to some 700 cinemas in 25 countries, such as been the success of live theatre broadcasts.

A first for Gill and me, I was wondering about the etiquette. Does one applaud as one does at the theatre or does one munch popcorn as one does at the cinema? Some clapped, some didn't. It seemed pretty pointless to me given that the actors would not hear the applause. Mirren was superb and I learned a few things, hadn't realised that the Queen and Harold Wilson had been good chums.

We really enjoyed it, it was very close to the experience of live theatre with the advantage of cheaper, available tickets (although it was sold out in Woking) just five minutes from home, so no traipse up to London. We'll do this again.

Yellow flag iris and bee. The garden is still looking good. Have just acquired an android phone for the first time, so I expect I'll have to find an app for blip. I believe there are some.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.