Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Julia's lampshade and reflections on competitions

Replacing the lampshade was the first thing I did in the morning, but then had to wait until dark for the full effect.

Tai Chi in the morning - I managed better this week than last, but was still dosed with ibuprofen, as were several other members.  I felt tired in the afternoon but picked up later and had a video chat with GG.  Got the timing of my washing wrong - it was a lovely day here, but I was too late to hang it out, so had to rely on the dryer.  Something I haven't done for a long time.

I watched the camera club judging on Zoom (though I think most people had made it into the club room).  It's quite interesting to do this as a non-participant as it enabled me to see what kinds of images our judge liked. What seemed to be favoured were landscape/ cityscape images that were sharp throughout and also a few creative unconventional photos, which was good to see, but I sometimes think that the criteria applied to creative photography is not as clearly developed in judges minds.  I loved tthe Jackdaw portrait with the blue eyes (the theme was blue) which didn't make it into the final `top' images.  Selection is such a personal tthing and I'm not totally sure what people learn from it apart from the fact that different people make different choices.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.