Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The promise of things to come

Well the weather has certainly changed.   Just on Tuesday night it was a wonderfully warm night with a starlit sky, perfect for Paul McCartney's concert at the Stadium.   Tonight, it is raining and we have cloud cover.  Not much rain though -  after you scratch the surface of the garden under the mulch it is dry earth.  We need a lot of soaking rain.

My tomatoes on the other hand are doing well as I have them in large tubs and I feel I am going to have tomatoes coming out my ears soon enough.  I even ate some of my lettuce for lunch today with a homemade wrap, hummus and felafal.  So although on a very small scale Mima, I can just imagine how satisfying it must be being completely self sufficient.  Speaking of which, I will be getting the sourdough mother (mine is called Pearl [mother of Pear]) ready for some baking.  Now if only I could make cheese but that would require access to lots of milk which is not really possible for me here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.