Musing of a Lady

By inkstainedhands

Bibliophile

I don't think I have written anything recently about my deep love for reading. I would call myself a bibliophile. Someone who collects or has a great love for books. I have loved books and reading for as long as I can remember. Growing up, my parents read to my sister and me every evening before we'd go to bed. It was something he did until I was about 14 when he read The Lord of the Rings to us. I have dyslexia and was homeschooled until I was almost 10. This allowed my parents to let me learn to read at my own pace. So I wasn't rushed or forced to learn. Once I started reading, I just flourished. I always had a book in my bag and would happily sit in the car with my book whilst my parents ran errands in Kampala (the capital of Uganda). When I was about 16, we started coming back to Europe every summer. After the first summer, when my parents discovered that I'd spent my clothes allowance on books, banned me from spending money on books. The ban hasn't been lifted but once I left home it didn't apply anymore. I have over 100 books in Uganda and another 100 or so in England.

Now, about 6 years ago I bought myself a Kindle Paperwhite, as a gift to myself. I had spent so long refusing to get one because I love being able to turn the pages of a book and enjoy the smell of the ages. However, I decided to buy a Kindle as I wanted to ensure I always have a book on me, but don't have to worry about lugging a heavy one about with me. This Kindle has been one of the best investments I've made. I do have a Goodreads profile where I track my reading journey and occasionally write book reviews. If you'd like to be friends with me on there, just click here.

Rhys Bowen is currently my favourite author. She has written a lot of books, many of which are stand-alone books that give an incredible insight into life in World War II, from many different angles. In Farleigh Fields, is one such book. I've only just started it and am gripped.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.