Fotomatikus

By hazelh

Cake for citations

So, according to a recent global ranking of scientists, I am in the top 2%. When I saw this news two weeks ago, I didn't pay it much attention. I am always suspicious of attempts to quantify the achievement of academics based on citation data, as is the case here. However, when I was on campus this afternoon, I discovered that my research group colleagues had decided that my ranking at number 194,405(!) on the list was worthy of celebration. Bruce kindly took this photograph of me with a cake and card.

The reason for my trip to campus was primarily to join a drinks reception and then go out for dinner with some international visitors, including my Canadian collaborator Brian. Immediately beforehand I went through the presentation that I delivered to academics a couple of weeks ago with a colleague in the research office. I also helped Bruce set up the room for the drinks reception. It was so much fun to see everyone. However, I was rather tired by the time that I returned home at 10:30pm - not least because I had been out the house for 12 hours in total having spent the morning at the gym.

Exercise today: 1 hour on the exercise bike; strength training; swim (30 lengths); walking (18,708 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.