An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Daisy daisy...

Woke up at 6am none the worse for my very painful sneeze as I went to bed.  Fell back to sleep till 10am.  These antibiotics are really knocking me out.  

Thankfully D is feeling much better.  His horrendous headache has almost worn off so he had much more energy. He was up to take in the Tesco delivery just after 8am.

By the time I'd made it downstairs I'd missed the drama of a robin flying in the back door and perching on the tv in the garden room!  Weirdly D, who is bird phobic, was remarkably calm, probably because the robin was too.  Lola didn't even bark at it.  A wee visitor I wonder?  

D closed the doors into the hall and opened the bi-fold doors in the garden room but it was in no hurry to leave.  Eventually after a while, it hopped to the door handle, sat for a moment, then flew out.  Now that would have been a blip.

Toasted bacon sandwich for lunch and a very large mug of tea.  

My lovely cleaning lady L and her daughter I arrived.  I am always happy to see them but today especially so, as downstairs was a disaster as it hasn't been touched since the Skye lot left on Sunday.   D and I have been feeling so bad that we've not been able to do much more than loading and emptying the dishwasher.

While they set about putting the house back together again, D retreated to the living room and went to the studio.  I wasn't in the mood to start anything big so painted these little daisies.  A quick sketch but it settled the craving to have a paintbrush in my hand :-)  

Ele has asked me to paint something for her downstairs loo but she has no idea what she wants.  Thought a bit about it today and I think three smaller paintings rather than a large one would suit the space best so I have sketched out three Isle of Lewis beach scenes (see extra) from my photographs and all being well will start painting them tomorrow.  

Talking of painting, on our way back from the Health Centre on Monday David posted the painting I did for my friend Heather.  She received it today and got in touch to say she is over the moon with it.  Phew!  So happy she likes it.

Just after 5pm the pain in my side started to increase.  D made dinner while I wrestled with whether I should phone the health centre before it closed at 6pm.  Decided to take some painkillers (Ibuprofen, which I am not meant to take but took one of D's omeprazole too, to protect my stomach) and wait it out.  Don't have much of an appetite so hardly ate any dinner, which was a shame as D had made the roasting tin cookbook's roast salmon with rosemary, hazelnuts and roast potatoes.  Oh well, I can have the salmon cold with salad for lunch tomorrow.

An hour after taking the painkillers my pain had reduced again, so glad I didn't phone the health centre.  

Have tried to cheer myself up by looking at holiday cottages for spring.  Would be good to have a wee week somewhere nice to look forward to as the nights lighten up again :-)

Yesterday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.