The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The whole of the dark side

The Bristol Ensemble relaxing on stage at Stroud Subscription Rooms before their performance of a piece by Einaudi, two from.Pink Floyd's Wish you were Here, and the whole of an arrangement Dark Side of the Moon!

This concept album by Pink Floyd was is fifty years old! I tried to think back to when I was nine years old, and imagine hearing it for the first time. I failed. Perhaps some of my uncles discussed it. My mother wouldn't have thought it her cup of Earl Grey. What adult discussed contemporary music with nine-year-olds, back then?  The Vietnam War was a frequent topic of conversation among the adults. Childers was elected as the new president of Eire, after the death of Eamonn De Valera. That election sparked my first interest in politics. (Unfortunately, Childers died, not long after being elected, but I'd gone to school in Scotland by then).

Anyhow, where was I? The concert was energizing and exciting, and I enjoyed it, thought I'd rather have seen it at a festival instead of on hard seats in a 'ballroom'. Beforehand I'd had supper with SA and her tennis playing friend J, at SA' s place. Before that, I'd been at work. 
After the concert, when i  got home for the evening, I admired the new freezer, which had arrived and had been set up by CS. Only one thing was missing: it didn't have a door alarm. This was the model I'd chosen specifically because I'd been told it did have this feature!  I sat down and felt depressed for a while because of all the wasted hours of research, then had to go and get packed because tomorrow, dear readers, I am going on a retreat near Tenby. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.