curns' corner

By curns

Carnaby

I went into the office to sit at a desk and workws. I don’t think I have done that since March 2020. It’s  hard to convey precisely what I mean because I have, of course, been into the office many times since. But this was different and, generally l, helped by two colleagues being there who were chatty and, therefore, made the office give worth it. And it felt relatively normal. I notice that I also drank less coffee because I didn’t get up from my desk as often. I did leave earlyish to avoid the commuter interchange hell at Clapham Junction. 

I returned home to see PY had finished the last bit of concrete on the top of the wall in front of the house.  As I had managed to get out a little earlier that I imagined, I had a bit more time at home before I had to leave for our monthly Thirsty Thursday event.  After snapping this picture of Carnaby Street, I arrived at The White Swan just after 7:30pm to find Conrelia was ordering at the bar. We had a lovely evening. Unfortunately, it was just the two of us for this month.  It was very noticeable how loud it was outside: the pub was quite packed. I think that’s something to do with the improving weather. We got to discussing estate agents and rental properties as Cornelia’s flat is, again, on the market and she’s not sure what will happen if her landlord sells.  I mentioned the last flat that PY and I viewed in Vauxhall a couple of months ago and how the tenants had the washing drying which, I felt, made it look smaller that it really was. And she smirked at the technique.

On the Underground about 11pm meant it was a shorter evening than the previous sessions. I think I felt better because it was, at least, one pint less And that’s a good sign. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.