curns' corner

By curns

Homewards

I had a terrible night. I am not sure what the nightmare was but PY said the frightened voice I used wasn’t my own. I only recall it was a Christmas elf stealing things. Luckily, I’d packed last night so, not a lot to do. PY and I took 5 bags of rubbish to the skips. Later, Mark and Eleanor took another couple. Rather than throw it away, we left a little bit of fruit that we had not used for the Airbnb owners. 

Away by 9:15am and at station 15 minutes later. Mark bought us a coffee from the McCafe at the station. I was sceptical that it would be awful coffee but, this is Italy, it was great. The airport train was in the platform but closed up until about 10 minutes before departure. We arrived at the airport on time.  I managed to finish my book on the train journey which I was very pleased with because it would allow me to start my next one while taking the aeroplane journey home.

There was a bit of a queue for both the economy and business check-ins. Although we were travelling back economy, PY and I could have used the business check in but it offered no time saving. We stayed with the others. Rob pointed out that Nick Grimshaw and Miquita Oliver were in the queue ahead of us. I think we were all surprised celebrities were in economy. People seemed to leave them alone. 

I’ve packed almost everything in the suitcase, so there really was not anything to have any problem with that security. We went through the security, and then to the bathroom, and then to find a sandwich to take on board the plane. I picked a mozzarella and tomato sandwich, which I thought they would serve cold, but it went in the grill behind the counter. I haven’t really wanted to take a warm sandwich onto the plane. Fortunately by the time we boarded it had got cold and I could eat it during the flight. After passport control, there was a waiting area by the gate where there was also a coffee bar, so I went and ordered two small latte macchiato and an arancini. by the time I had been served, we were already boarding the flight.  We wolfed our coffees down and join the queue. The others were a little bit behind us as we’ve got separated while searching for toilets and food in the post security area.

We stood for quite a long time on the airbridge before they open the doors, and we all descended onto the tarmac to actually walk to the plane. I always find this quite odd that you stand on an airbridge that should be connected to a plane, but they park the plane a little bit away and you walk. Fortunately on this flight they had stairs at the front and the back of the plane and as we were on the  the last, but one, row on the plane we boarded by the back stairs and took our seats very easily. Surprisingly, it was a full flight, although Rob seemed to have the only free seats next to him. 

The journey passed relatively quickly. I consumed the food that I bought in the airport and started by next Bryant & May book. I also find myself dozing for quite a little while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.