curns' corner

By curns

Back

I am really noticing that the temperature has dropped now that I am back.  Also, it’s 15º cooler here than it was in Palermo so I think that’s adding to the chilly feeling. I woke feeling quite rested, which I think is because yesterday’s travel day was all at sensible hours and I was able to get to bed early.  It might also be because PY took today off as well and so the alarm didn’t go off quite as early as it otherwise would have done.

I weighted myself and concluded that the holiday isn’t good for me and I need to go on a diet. The Gregg’s sausage rolls that we took out of the freezer yesterday for lunch are probably not a good start.  There were part of a 2Good2Go bag so, our excuse, is that they were great value. When paired with a lot of salad they probably can work within my diet limitations. But, I am back on my diet. 

I am also back to the gym. I went this evening walking through the dark and the rain. It really made me think winter is coming. The gym has been closed for the last week for some refurbishment work that obviously didn’t matter to me as I was away and was never going to go anywhere near it. In truth, I haven’t been anywhere near the gym since July.  But when I entered, it was clear that the refurbishment had not yet completed, and the downstairs area was closed. Again, that doesn’t really matter to me as I never go downstairs, preferring to use the cardio machines upstairs. But upstairs has been refreshed with a new floor and the whole place seemed to be much brighter than before - or maybe I’m just forgetting. 

Before we went away we received a note from Network Rail saying that they, like the gym, were doing some refurbishment work. The pedestrian bridge near the station is being cleaned and, maybe, repaired during the evenings and overnight.  And that is why there are pedestrian diversion signs all around this part of Raynes Park. You can’t miss them. 

We ended the evening catching up on Celebrity Race Around The World. Somehow, we have missed two episodes and I can’t work out how.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.