Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Attitude

Only a blackbird, but I liked his attitude!

It must have rained heavily in the night and looked very unpromising early.  But the sun did come through and gave us a gorgeous morning.  While it was good I went to the reserve where I saw three speckled wood butterflies playing tag, and a red admiral up high in a sallow.  Not a huge amount else.  The dragonflies seem to have given up, there were robins, wrens and tits around but hardly visible and I did get the merest glimpse of the goldcrests.  I also had a good talk with one of the wardens (off-duty) who agreed that small birds seem very low in numbers there right now.  She suggested it might be because so many have been eaten by the sparrowhawks.  I think she was joking (I HOPE she was joking).  We'll see as more and more of the leaves fall.  Already many of the willows are looking surprisingly bare, as you can see above.

Not a lot else.  Another trip to the chemist and the supermarket.  Goodness, what an enormous amount to energy's required to feed four adults.  I'd forgotten...

Have a happy evening, all  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.