Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Other Kinglet

I recently attempted (and failed) to get good photos of a ruby-crowned Kinglet.  But today I am adding a Golden-crowned Kinglet to my annual yard record.  Kinglets are one of our smallest song birds measuring 3.5-4 inches (9-10 cm) and recognizable for their habit of popping around in trees and shrubs in an unpredictable and speedy manor.  Which also makes them hard to photograph.  I got totally lucky with this one - I was sitting on the patio after I got back from my morning outing when it landed in our shadbush tree, right in front of me.  And since I already had a camera raised, it was relatively easy to get off a couple of quick shots.  Now to get the Ruby-crowned Kinglet...

I met up with a couple of friends this morning at the Refuge and we racked up a decent 34 species of birds while we were out on the marsh.  It was much cooler (and windier) than I had expected and I wasn't really dressed warmly enough.  Never-the-less, it was a good morning in all respects.  

All else remains status quo.  And my dark today had a bit of caramel and sea salt.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.