A day in the life

By Shelling

Woodpile

I've finally got around to chopping the last of my firewood that has been lying in an unattended pile since summer. Wood needs chopping to dry properly, it needs to get split for the air to reach the wood inside the bark, if the bark is still on it, it might start to rot. Summer would have been a great time to do the job but it was always too hot or I found other pressing things that needed doing in stead. 

I was going to do it as soon as I got home from Spain but I've either been working or it has been raining, or both. Today has been rainfree and I started sawing it up with my electric chainsaw for a few hours this afternoon, I ran out of excuses. The pile has of course been affected by all the rain that has fallen since it was placed there and needs to be chopped and covered before use next year, it's too damp to be used right away and i think I have enough wood already for this winter, time will tell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.