Capital adventures

By marchmont

Cultural day

I was up early as my booking at Musée d'Orsay was for 10. Walked there with a stop for café crème and a croissant, 8 euros!

I was in the art gallery for nearly 6 hours. Started with the Van Gogh exhibition. Bit of a ramée, not helped by so many people trying to photograph all the paintings. It was crowded and hot but being in early meant there was no queue.

Then upstairs to see the Impressionists. I had to have lunch in the Café Compana as I didn't think I could tackle the post-Impresionists unbfed. 

Out in the fresh.air it was still a bright autumn day and I walked across to the Tuileries with a coffee stop. 

Walked along the Seine to see the progress on Notre-Dame. Work was going on inside as I could hear banging but will it be ready to reopen by the end of the year 

I'd forgotten the drugs so I was in discomfort and had to have many sit downs during the day. My thighs are clearly out of practice.

Got back to the hotel for a shower, a lie down and the out for dinner in one of the side streets close by.

Not too late home. It was drizzly but no real rain. Been a great day. Now for the morrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.