Capital adventures

By marchmont

Mouffetard

Up at a normal time but not off to the pool but to the airport. All went well though I was gobsmacked at security by the young woman who, at the belt, was taking about 10 minutes to repack copious amounts of liquids into 2 plastic bags. Not sure if she got them through or not. Somebody who didn't b read notices. 

Flight was unremarkable. Chatted with a lovely woman who was off to Paris to celebrate her 80th. They hadn't flown for 25 years ago so we're and at the changes in the airport. I hope she has a lovely time. Quite a few rugby fans on the plane too. 

Took ages to taxi into the gate at CDG and then ages to walk from the terminal to the train station. I love the way the railway and autoroute go under the runways at CDG.  Stood in a long ticket office queue until we worked out there were machines, hidden by temporary hoardings. 

Got the express RER to Notre Dame St Michel. Another long walk out of the station then a short walk to the hotel. I'm round the corner from the Sorbonne and when I came out after a short rest there was clearly something going on. Loads of Police and CRS and barriers closing streets. Very French.

I walked to Rue Mouffetard to see if I could recognise the spot in my grandfather's water colour, blipped in August. Not sure I could but Rue Mouffetard was great and I've never have got there if it hasn't been for that picture. Lots of interesting wee shops, many food shops and partly pedestrianised. I had an apero and snack overlooking the fountain and then walked back via the Pantheon. 

Another rest and some Netflix before I went out for dinner just up to the Place Sorbonne. Definitely a student area as there was a queue outside a Club a few doors up. The other noticeable thing is the number of small cinemas. 

It started to rain heavily while I was eating but luckily I didn't have far to go. Been a good first day in Paris. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.