ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Autumnal Water of Leith

As foreshadowed in yesterday's blip (but of course, that was written this morning....so obviously I knew I'd slept well), I slept soundly last night, rarely waking and when I did, getting back to sleep quickly. I may be very stressed at the moment, but I have at least (mostly) taught or disciplined myself to sleep well. The trick seems to be having the right level of tiredness (and not drinking too much, of course).

Mr A and P stayed up chatting for a while. At least when they weren't interacting with their devices. It wasn't actually cold in the flat last night, but putting a blanket over your knees becomes a habit, I guess.

It's also not cold today, although I popped the heating on for an hour whilst we had (a cooked) breakfast. I didn't want our guest going away thinking that I was budget and tight when it came to heating.

After he had departed back to Argyll, we did a bit of domestic stuff, like stowing the sofa bed, sorting out the dirty washing ready for laundry, and tidying up the kitchen, before heading down to the market in search of baked goods and a restocking of our meat for the freezer. I was quite sweaty when I returned from the walk, as it is pretty humid out there even though - at least later on - the sky is quite clear. I was even sweatier after I had done a peloton workout this afternoon

We've had a quiet afternoon, and I have done a bit more of a slightly annoying task where I have to allocate applications for review by (moderately) expert reviewers. It's tricky because we have lots of expertise in certain areas, but there are a lot of applications in other areas where we have less expertise. I'm attempting to triangulate. Trying to do it on my laptop screen is not very easy, but I'm loth to go and sit in my study for the evening, using the extra screen. I'll leave it for now and return to it tomorrow.

I'm just about to read my book for an hour before we plan to watch the rugby World Cup final, hoping for an exciting match. I suspect it will oblige.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.