KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Fall Contrasts

I went for a long walk at the Arboretum this morning. It was quite chilly, more so there because of the elevation. I saw lots of frost which melted as soon as the sun hit it. The sky was crystal blue and the sun brilliant. Many trees are now turning, although we have a lot of evergreens here too, which of course do not turn color. Here is a witch hazel which will be blooming in February! 

I spent the afternoon over at my neighbor's watching football...well, I talk with my neighbors and friends and some people watch football. The host always cooks amazing ribs and we each bring a dish to share. Today I brought a terrific salad of radicchio (soaked so it loses the bitterness), arugula (picked in the garden this morning), red onion, blue cheese, dried cranberries and rosemary roasted walnuts with a light balsamic vinaigrette. It was really delicious and I'm grateful there's just enough left for dinner!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.