Will it catch on?

I stayed in Lenno today and cut down on the shopping. I had a walk along the lake to find out where the ferries leave from. Having stopped for a snack in one of the bars next to the lake I was able to identify the landing stage without moving from the table.

After lunch I ventured along to the ferry office to pick up a timetable. As I arrived the contraption shown in the photograph went past the landing stage. It must be one of the most inefficient modes of transport ever invented.

A single person is powered by two jets of water sucked up by a kind of boat which is trailed behind him, the boat then pushes the water along the hose to the jets which the rider carries on his back. Not only inefficient but quite noisy, so it is to be hoped this is a one off.

While I was at the landing stage a seaplane came in to land and taxied to a jetty nearby. Quite a cool way to arrive at a hotel, or possibly home. I didn't see it take off again so it seems to have remained in Lenno at least for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.