New Kitchen Friend

My long awaited oven has arrived! Since coming to Thailand almost three years ago, I've had plans to get an oven. It didn't have to be giant, but it needed to be a step beyond one that just toasts stuff. I was patient while living in the dorm, as we had a community oven that I learned to make work. But since moving to my new apartment, I knew the oven dream would come to reality soon, and today was the day!

After buying it at the store, I quickly dropped it off at home and ran to my next appointment. My brain was already in baking mode though. What would be my first creation. Granola? Cookies? Brownies? Lasagna?

When I got home, I looked at the clock. 9:00 p.m. Not too late to give my new kitchen friend a try! Some chocolate chips jumped into my cart at the oven store...so I decided whatever I made should include those too. (I wouldn't want them feeling unloved.) I only had the smallest bit of butter though, so my options were limited...I thought.

Online, (yea for online!) I found a chocolate chip cookie recipe using oil. Who would have thought of such a thing? I was skeptical, but decided to give it a shot. It's not like there's a store right down the street where I could buy butter or a car in my imaginary driveway that could take me there for that matter. But the chocolate chip cookies weren't going to be stopped by that minor detail. Before midnight, I had our house filled with the delicious smell of homemade cookies.

Yea for a new oven!
Yea for homemade cookies!
Yea for all the future goodies to share!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.