The Pensioner

By Pensioner

All Things Must Pass

A fine day for once. Blue skies, so a decent day for doing a good spot of gardening. And hanging in my shed was my mum’s wicker shopping basket which I use to store useful things like pea netting. And sadly, it fell off the wall when I retrieved my hoe. The handle has been entirely demolished by little boring weevils or summat. How I remember that basket with her from when I was a wee boy. It’s done well.
Later I went over to the harbour for the usual chat: the wind had got up and the swell was still very much in evidence. I birrled Costa over to WW’s boat. They’ve set up some harbour wide “weather watch” group on a new whatsApp group and are planning round the clock watches, having unilaterally commandeered VHF channel 69. It’s like the Boy Scouts crossed with Dad’s Army. 
Later, The Pigeon Tunnel on AppleTV. What a tremendous film - simply an interview by Errol Morris with John le Carré. But so much more - utterly absorbing. It made me want to go and read some. I must! Next holiday...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.