curns' corner

By curns

Italian

PY was volunteering at Piccadilly Circus this morning with the London Ambassadors. Phil was on the same shift. I thought I would have plenty of time at home to get things done but the morning seemed to pass quickly and, before I knew it, I was heading out to meet-up with them both so we could do one of Phil’s walking tours, and then on to a lovely Italian dinner at Mele e Pere in Soho.

Before that, we’d started with a tea in Redemption Roasters, just off Piccadilly. I used to go there when it was a Caffè Nero and I worked around the corner. I don’t know if I have forgotten, or if it’s changed, but I don’t think I knew about the upstairs section where we drank and waited for Wei to join us.

On the walk we visited Covent Garden where we learned that the entrance to St Paul’s Church should have been amidst the impressive columns that actually face onto Covent Garden piazza but Christian tradition says that the church’s altar should placed at the east end which meant there is no entrance from Covent Garden and you need to walk around to the other side.

Post-walk drinks at Chequers Tavern and then to Mele e Pere,  which first opened its doors on Brewer Street in 2012, but I would have sworn was something else in the years I used to work around there.  In a bid to not get caught out with a small pasta dish, I opted for the Diavola pizza (£15) that had some lovely & spicy Tuscan salami. Delicious.  

We did not sample the Vermouth bar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.