curns' corner

By curns

Vineyard with a view

When I left my last job they bought me some vouchers for Denbie’s vineyard near Dorking. This was the last opportunity I had to use the voucher. I’d waited as I was keen to go when the vines were in full fruit. It was a bit of a juggling act to plan everything. Luckily, it’s a bank holiday and, when I booked a few weeks ago, they had availability for the Food  & Wine Matching Experience at The Vineyard Hotel.  

It was a beautiful day and we were a little early, having walked from the station across the dual carriageway and then into the vineyard. We wandered a little bit around the shop before making our way to the hotel. The dining room has an amazing view across some of the vines and they had the doors wide open. We were also placed just by one of the open doors, just inside the restaurant but effectively in the sunshine.   It’s amazing how some small(ish) samples of wine and some paired meats and cheeses can fill you up, but they did (the extra glass we had while sitting outside probably helped). The service and explanation was fantastic. The pairing worked wonderfully. Of course, I shall forget all I learned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.