The centre of London

Today’s shift was in Parliament Square at the slightly earlier time of 10am.  I think this is the first shift I have ever been on where all the volunteers were male which felt a bit strange.

There was a great variety of questions. That’s not always the case and the variety does make things move faster. I think it always helps that the weather was great and that does make people more inclined to stop. I was also stationed right by the pod which, at this location, I think it the best place for helping people. I still feel bad that I was unable to help a man in a wheelchair get an easy accessible route to the Notting Hill Carnival. All routes seems to rely on tube station where accessibility was unclear or on far too many bus changes.

After I had finished I had a slow wander, via St James’ Park and Waterstones on Piccadilly, to the Piccadilly Circus pod where I was meeting PY and Phil. We were off testing a new walking tour with Phil. 

The tour ended just by Trafalgar Square, and stood looking at the plaque that is the centre of London  (or at least where distances to London on road signs are measured from. 

Afterwards PY and I went and had some wine outside the Royal Festival Hall and back home for a pizza to be delivered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.