Grammy

By Grammy

Fly Away Home

The sounds of a flock of Canadian geese overhead woke me up this morning. By the time I got outside, they were pretty far off but I really liked the view with the moon. I started a load of laundry before we began our day on the road. Hubby did a few odd jobs until it was time to leave. First stop was the funeral of a classmate, who later was our loan officer when we bought our home and in the last several years, a fellow attendee at all our local KofC events. We were shocked at the news of Claire’s death. She suffered with cancer for three years but her brother told us she made it plain that no one was to know. Her small Catholic Church had standing room only for her funeral Mass. We grabbed lunch at the nearby Mexican restaurant before heading to the base for groceries and our meds. They had their European treats out so I bought some for the grands and my mother. Also bought a few other fun stocking items. We went to another grocery store to pick up heavy whipping cream and a rotisserie chicken. We are expecting our 80°F weather to drop 40 degrees tonight; tomorrow may be a soup day. I plan to try making chicken gnocchi like they serve in Olive Garden - delish. The last load of laundry is in the washer. The evening is now ours. I hope your day was quieter. Stay safe. Thanks so much for your visit. If I missed your blips recently, I will try to catch up tonight. “Calligraphy of geese against the sky- the moon seals it”. - Yosa Buson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.