Fotomatikus

By hazelh

Peak autumn colours, Dawyck

Yesterday afternoon we saw that the weather forecast for this morning at the Royal Botanic Garden Dawyck was sunny spells. This was our signal to plan a trip to see the autumn colours in the Borders.

After breakfast and the departure of our overnight guest LauraMuir, we set off for the garden. The car journey there and back in the sunshine offered beautiful views of the countryside and stunning autumn leaf displays. At Dawyck itself, the stars of the show were the acers, including the acer palmatum in my extra (nadinepierce's favourite tree). We ended our visit with a lovely soup and toastie lunch in the garden café.

Our (modest) Hallowe'en celebration was a dinner of pork g(h)oulash followed by apples baked in cherry brandy sauce (Cookery year recipe). Jon joined us for the evening and we played two games of Catan. Mr hazelh won the first, principally because he kept blocking Jon and me on brick on a 9. I won the second, but only just with a last minute monopoly card.

I had a long telephone conversation with Kate's widower this afternoon. I have offered him all the support that I can for the tough times ahead.

I chose the image for my main blip because I like the way that the camera has picked up the detail of the bark on the tree trunk, and the contrast of this with the colour of the acer beyond it.

Exercise today: 1 hour on the exercise bike; small amount of walking (8933 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.