Controversial New Town door and decorations

I have previously commented on the paintwork rules for the Edinburgh New Town, and written about possible contraventions (see, for example, my blip of 4th September 2021) When at weekend I read a news story about a front door painted pink, I made a plan to pop up the road and blip it. The bonus of taking my shot today are the accompanying Hallowe'en decorations.

Mr hazelh and I are rather stressed at the moment. As well as living amongst the chaos of the building work in the flat (we saw plumbers, an electrician, and plasterers today), Mr hazelh has been summoned for jury service this week. Last night he phoned up for his instructions and was told that he needed to be beside his phone today between 08:00 and 13:00 in case he is called in. As things turned out, no such phone call materialised. However, the possibility that he could be told to drop everything and head to court hung over him all morning.

As soon as we knew that Mr hazelh was able to stay at home with the workmen this afternoon, I was free to meet LauraMuir for a gallery visit - the Taste for Impressionism exhibition at the Scottish National Gallery - followed by afternoon tea. By complete coincidence Winsford passed along Princes Street while LauraMuir was waiting for me, so all three of us visited the exhibition together.

Afterwards LauraMuir and I parted company with Winsford, who headed west to 'check in' to her evening accommodation at Melissa's house.

LauraMuir and I then set off by foot to Emma's house in Portobello for our book group meeting. We stopped off along the way to check the goods at Ecosse éclair on Easter Road, make a purchase at Cornelius Beer and Wine, and peek at the Craigentinny marbles in the dark. We arrived in Portobello with 45 minutes to spare so took a break at Paddy and Caitlin's local for a glass of wine. When I messaged my niblings to say that we were we there, they said that they would come and join us for a quick drink.

It was full house at Emma's for book group. We all enjoyed Lessons in chemistry by Bonnie Gamus, and Emma's Hallowe'en themed supper. Next month everyone is coming to my flat to discuss My phantoms by Gwendoline Riley.

Other members of the book group have already posted their blips for today, some of which feature pictures of the afternoon visit to the gallery and this evening's food: ArcLight, LauraMuir, Ridgeback13, Winsford.

Exercise today: walking (21,546 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.