Ridgeback13

By Ridgeback13

Jewels

Another slightly dreamlike day. Up earlyish to take the car in for its MOT and service (which is going to be expensive, it turns out!). Took longer than I’d hoped to get to Musselburgh but after I’d dropped it off V collected me and we headed to the Fort for coffee and a toasted tea cake in M&S…mainly because we could sit there for ages without being disturbed. We talked nonstop for more than two hours, covering so much and catching up with each other pretty comprehensively. I then got the bus home…the filthy wet weather had lifted a bit thank goodness, then got some food shopping and went home. Finished off listening to The Dutch House by Ann Patchett which has been my constant companion on my recent long journeys and which I really enjoyed. Some of the characters were easier to identify with than others but it was intriguing and well written. Sitting listening to the end over a cup of tea I had that familiar slightly bereft feeling when it had finished….I hope I can choose another good book next.
Decided to make a Christmas cake as I picked up a couple of bags of ready-soaked-in-brandy dried fruit in Lidl and after a couple of false starts when I realised I needed more eggs then new weighing scales I whipped it up fairly quickly. Only problem arose when the treacle I’d put in the oven to warm got too hot and splattered on me when I opened the tin….I’ve burnt my top lip…ouch!
Once it was in the oven I managed to snap into a little bit of action and whizzed through some emails and even got close to writing a to do list (but didn’t actually manage it!). Need to sort out my diary for the next few weeks and get my head around what I have coming up.
Made some supper and then watched the new Shetland series first episode….not sure yet what it’s going to be like….then to bed. I have a busier day tomorrow, let’s hope I’ve snapped out of my brain fog by then!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.