A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Wool Exchange

A trip into Bradford city centre this morning after a damp early walk. What else! Actually it was much less wet than last week but underfoot the ground is saturated so it was definitely Muck boots time. So early in the season. We need some frost to firm things up and less rain!

It did feel like we have got away with it re Storm Ciaran and in the main I think we have as there hasn’t been much wind.

We got the bus down into Bradford as I had a book to collect from Waterstones, a bit of a saga. A signed copy, it was ordered last year for my son for Christmas. Around a year ago I had a message to inform me of a delay. I misread it at first as it was telling me it was now going to be available in September which we had just passed but it was taking about this September nearly a year away! I had the notification that it was on it’s way but the. Delayed again as the signed copies hadn’t arrived. A bit annoying as I saw it for sale in Bath a couple of weeks  ago and cheaper but not signed. I waited as it was after all to be a gift and finally I had the notification it was now available to collect from Waterstones in Bradford, if even forgotten that I chosen click and collect.

Never mind Waterstones is housed in one of Bradford’s best old buildings, the Wool Exchange which had its heyday in the 19th century when Bradford’s wool trade was at its height.
The blip is the magnificent interior,

Another prime building in the city is the Town or more correctly the City Hall. Modelled on the bell tower in Florence it’s now set in City Park/ Centenary Square. Today there were no fountains in action but some rather strange iridescent inflatable globes, maybe something to do with the BDlit event this weekend.

We had a free coffee in M & S just because we never get around to using our vouchers, collected the book and then head back to the interchange for the bus home. They’ve changed where it leaves form and the route due to extensive road works in the city centre but there was a bus in and we were soon home.

The rain seems to have got heavier now but we are shortly heading out again for Fish and Chips before going to Ilkley Cinema tonight to see an exhibition of art from Klimt.

I booked it soon after seeing the filmed exhibition of Vermeer from Amsterdam back in the spring which we really enjoyed, hope we enjoy this too.

More from Wentworth Woodhouse yesterday here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.