The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Smiling Pumpkin

Why do you smile, Pumpkin head?

I smile for the memory of the sun that grew me, and the days in the fields with my other friends.
I smile for the quaintness of being marked with a spurtle before being carved,  I smile for the joy I'll bring to the little witches and vampires as I ight their path to the front door, where sweets and treats await them. 

We had more guisers/trick or treaters then we've ever had before in twenty years on this estate! It was fun welcoming them all, though in England it's very transactional: they knock on the door and say 'trick or treat' and you give them sweets, and they leave. 
In Argyll, where two of my sisters live, the kids tell jokes, or occasionally sing a song or recite a poem. I'd like that. It can go wrong too, some windows in town (Oban) got egged, apparently.

GG and I went to see a Canadian film at film society: Wildhood, which is about identity, belonging, family, tradition, the  Miqmaq tribe of Nova Scotia, sexuality, and a whole lot more. We both loved it, for different reasons. If you're curious, check it out. Where you'd see it being screened, I couldn't say, unless at another film club. 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.