The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

EB for Halloween

Lashing rain and whistling wind didn't stop a total of fifteen neighbourhood kids from dressing up and coming to our door to trick or treat. In fact, I had to remove the lanterns and candle in the window when I ran out of goodies to dole out. I used to be appalled by the orange plastic buckets for collecting sweets, but I can't say they bother me now. I just like to see kids having fun, after the weirdness of the past two years.

I made apple and sausage risotto for supper, using apples from the street, thrn I chopped up some more to stew for a breakfast compote. As I did so, I remembered the Halloween parties of my youth, and 'ducking for apples'. That was always a wet game and slightly challenging, unlike a drink made by our mother called Witch's brew. It was a dark purple colour with what looked like orange cucumbers floating in it (frozen cylinders of Florida orange juice were a thing in the 1960s and 70s). Later, I found it was mainly based of blackcurrant squash and orange juice. At the time, I found it the most exotic drink imaginable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.