The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Llyn Clywedog

The reservoir, from a viewpoint above. The reservoir was created in the 1960s by flooding a valley to manage the flow of the river Severn, to stop it flooding lower locations. Some tenant farmers were forced to move from the valley. Apparently in the 1970s a night watchman was employed to defend the dam against a possible attack by Welsh Nationalists. ONE night watchman to defend the whole dam?

Changed times. The water is low now. We visited the cafe that overlooks the dam, and enjoyed coffee and vegan cake/pancakes with a view, before heading to Caersws station, from where I had a crowded journey back to Birmingham, Cheltenham and finally Stroud. Having got on near the start of the train's journey, I didn't have to stand this time, but plenty of others did.

I was happy to sit, because H and I had dodged the raindrops of morning and walked on the hill above her house, ending in a russet-and-orange avenue of beech trees. I carried this image with me across the miles, all the way back to Stroud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.