Second-time-around

By Skysea7

Cotoneaster

The sun just caught these bright leaves. There were endless showers which seemed to appear every five minutes. I had trouble finding a dry moment just to top up my bird feeders.

Last week I got help from a long phone call with a doctor re my rising glucose levels. He gave me instructions re dosage of insulin and said I should see the chief diabetic nurse. I think I should have been able to see her MONTHS ago. The doc’s insulin regime didn’t improve things at all. Yesterday’s diabetic nurse appointment resulted in me having to use a totally different insulin and injecting it twice a day. She is going to phone once a week to monitor progress. Again this should have happened MONTHS ago.

If you remember how it feels to eat a massive Christmas dinner and then struggle to stay awake afterwards, this is how it feels to be struggling with high diabetic blood sugars. I am fed up with it. It also gives me a dry mouth and blurred vision as well as zero energy. I am recording it here when my lowest morning ‘score’ is 14.7 when it should be 5, just so I can monitor progress. I was told that the drug OZEMPIC which is being bought up privately by overweight wealthy people is now not expected to be available to NHS patients  until 2025. If I had private health care I would be able to get it now. It stopped these high glucose levels I’m getting.

It’s just after 7pm and fireworks are going off outside. I wish they were only ‘legal’ on November 5th. It’s not fair on pets and wildlife to have this noise going off night after night.

My other ‘rant’ is the poppies issue. ‘We will remember them’ is said,  and people dutifully (or thoughtlessly?) buy poppies and feel they have done their bit, while at the same time the Govt is sending money and weapons to help other countries kill each other.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.