Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Dìa de los Muertos (Day of the Dead)

I attended the Dìa de los Muertos celebration in Tubac this morning. Here are 5 facts about this celebration. Surprisingly, I was able to find a good parking space right in the center of the village. I visited the vendors for a while when I first arrived. The woman in the red waist ribbon in the extras was one such vendor. There was a wonderful DJ and lots of food trucks.

The blip and two extras were taken during the procession. After the Nogales High School Marching Band and a Mariachi Band passed, there were lots of women in formal/traditional dress. The public could join the procession and many people did, both on foot and in decorated golf carts. Other extras include a mural and an ofrenda (see the above link).

It was a beautiful day, weather-wise. When I headed home shortly after noon, the temperature was 80°/26.7° but it felt much warmer in the sun.  A very nice way to spend a Saturday morning.

In other news...I believe I broke a toe last night in the dark on my way to bed. I was determined to go to Tubac despite it.
-------------------

Don't judge me for my kid eating a chicken nugget for lunch. Judge me for not knowing where the chicken nugget came from.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.