Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Dropping By

I can't remember the last time I saw a Gray Treefrog in the garden although I know they are around because in the spring I can hear males singing.  I was crouched down next to the side garden, photographing a little hover fly on the mums, certain I'd found my blip for the day.  And then, something hit the side of my head, bounced off and landed on the side garden wall ...  At that point, Jax became intrigued and ran over, which triggered the little frog to jump again... landing on Jax's front paw.  Well, as you might imagine, that triggered a moment of excitement as I tried to get the frog off the dog's foot.  I did manage to cup the little guy in my hand and gently remove him to the mums.  By that time, Jax was laser-focused so I had to put him on the deck with the gate closed so I could make sure all was well with the frog.  And since I already had the macro lens at hand...a few pictures before I left the frog alone to collect itself.  A short time later, he was about 4 feet above the mums, on the window sill.  I watched while he carefully crawled up to the window soffit and climbed in.  I wonder if he's planning to hibernate there?  It would make sense since the furrow orb weavers spin their webs there and would provide the frog with some easy meals.

Gray Treefrogs are native to the eastern US and are a species of aboreal tree frog.  They can live up 6 or 7 years and have the cool ability to freeze solid in winter and still be alive.  They are terrestrial frogs and can change colors from gray to green dependent on their surroundings and the temperature.  They are opportunistic hunters, mostly hunting at night and eating insects, spiders, gastropods (slugs and snails) and even small frogs.  Males will fight for territory, with their wrestling matches lasting a minute or two until the defeated male leaves.   I feel lucky to have them around even if I rarely ever see them.  

Hubs and I went on a "drug run" to the cannabis dispensary this morning, with Jax riding shotgun in the back.  I pre-ordered online so all I had to do was run in, pay, and collect my order of edibles.  It was a beautiful day for a drive and we enjoyed some lingering fall foliage on the way.  Now Hubs is out on a bike ride and I've just finished my PT exercises for the day.  We are planning to head out for a late lunch this afternoon which will negate the need for dinner later.

And I've already indulged in a square of dark with dried cherries and almonds.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.